Posted on 05/09/2017
SWHS 2017 GSP ParticipantsCongratulations to the Southwestern High School students chosen to participate in the 2017 Governor's Scholars Program.  These students:  Rachel Wright, Emory Wilds, MarLee Yow, Hannah Mills, Mallory McDonald, Madyson Stomierosrski, Taylor Brewer, Anna Jacobs, Gretchen Hines, Morgan Wesley, Ryan Carrington, Jon Long, Nick Coleman, Matthew Stewart, Jacob Patterson, Patric Edwards and Jason Anderson are outstanding representatives for not only Southwestern High School but also for the Pulaski County School District. 

Selection for GSP is highly competitive.  Students that apply must demonstrate academic achievement through GPA, difficulty of course load, and at least one standardized test score as well as an original writing entry.  In addition to demonstrating academic ability, students must also include information pertaining to their extracurricular activities, volunteer service and any job positions held.  Letters of recommendation from a teacher as well as a community leader are required to support the application. 

Students selected for GSP are challenged academically and personally by participating in academic studies along with co-curricular activities.  Students also get the opportunity to experience residential life on a college campus.  Find out more about the Kentucky Governor's Scholars Program by visiting http://gsp.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.